Update June 14, 2013: H.B. 2783 easily passed the Oregon state senate and has now been signed into law by Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber! [Read more...]
On August 3, 2012 Delaware Gov. Jack Markell signed S.B. 211 into law, thus banning anyone from tethering or chaining a dog more than 18 hours in a 24 hour period. No dog that is under 4 months old may be tethered or chained at all; no dog that is nursing may be tethered chained if the puppies are present. Tethering does not include use of a trolley or moving line. The law does not apply if the dog is on property owned or leased by the owner that is 10 or more acres. 11 Del. C. Section 1325. A first offense means a warning. After that, violators are guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
On May 23, 2012 the Cleveland City Council passed amendments to the city code that strengthen the ability of animal control to help dogs left on chains. The new law, Section 603.092, prohibits anyone from chaining or tethering an animal in any of the following circumstances:
Under current Virginia law, persons caring for dogs must provide "adequate space" and when it comes to tethered companion animals, "adequate space""means sufficient space to allow each animal to: (i) easily stand, sit, lie, turn about, and make all other normal body movements in a comfortable, normal position for the animal; and (ii) interact safely with other animals in the enclosure."